Confessions of a dead man

I must admit I was a bit scared when the judge said I was to be hanged.

Just a bit scared though because I knew it was time- I had had enough fun for a lifetime. My only regret was that I did not start earlier. If only people could see from my perspective, the kind of joy that radiates through me whenever I just finished an operation. Well I like to call it job, because that is what it was to me- job, or work.

So, by the time this letter gets to you, I would be dead. They think its death by hanging that suits me. I think it’s the electric chair that I deserve.

You would think I’m crazy to want the chair, but trust me, I know what I deserve. Not that I am sorry or anything of the nature, it’s just what I think I should have gotten instead of hanging. For all the very bad things that I did and the ones that this letter will still do- oh, how wicked I feel!

By now I know you must be wondering who I am and what the bad things I have done are. I assure you that you will hear of me before you finish reading this lengthy letter, either from the radio, television or newspaper (you will be surprised that you even have heard of me before). I took my time and wrote this especially to you. And you know how I’m sure it will get to you? Well, when I said I was wicked, I meant it, and so I will just let your imagination do the rest.

As I write this to you, I am in a room with just a bed and a plastic bowl. I don’t know how I got here; I was blindfolded all the way from the courthouse to one room, another one then this one.

I saw the hatred on the faces of all the people in the court, the anger, the desperate need to shoot me or stone me. It makes me laugh now. Stupid people- it was not my fault that they were the victims.

Anyway, I still feel wicked. My works will forever be remembered in many lives (those that survived) and in the lives of many families (for those dead). All the same I win- living or dead.

People ask what you would like to be remembered for after death. They don’t ask if you would like to be remembered at all. And this is the basis of my story. I just wanted to live my life and get it over with, no remembrance afterwards, but my father had to ring and sing it in my ears every other weekend when he came home from where he worked.

He should have just left me alone. He should have not forced me to go to school. He should have just asked me what I wanted, which was to sleep and wake up, eat and shit and play. He had to beat me every time he came home, made me do all sorts of punishments, just because I did not score good grades in class works and home works.

And my mother suffered for it. Since I wanted to be remembered for something after my death, I had to look for something I was good at. Whatever was worth being remembered for was worth doing well after all. 

Oh! how she suffered for it. Not just her though- and others, including the man that caused it all.

 

Image

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phoyinmartins
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 06:25:38

    Train your child the way he/she should go….NOT the way you want them to go. For that is the Genesis of self destruction. am truely wondering who u’re and what the bad things u’ve done are…….Nice use of words here sliver *thumbs up* .For the active mind, my bodmas says the answer nah 12 buh I’ll say 18

    Like

    Reply

  2. Habeeb
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 09:37:29

    Nice use of words……a soft ,yet superb display of images my head’s already getting from those lines……you have my attention aiidy…Friday should just come straight away…….great piece u’ve dropped here….greater pieces I’m expecting……..btw is 18 d answer to that maths Q?…*scratching chin*

    Like

    Reply

  3. ddammii
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 12:33:01

    I’m glad you like it.. *scratching chin too*

    Like

    Reply

  4. Ameenat
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 09:50:49

    9ice one dear…..Waiting patiently for the next episode….Buh i think the answer to the Q is 18…#winks

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sheyzznote
    Nov 29, 2013 @ 20:40:22

    “And when It all end”, that’s how she began his story.. TIMI.

    Like

    Reply

Your comments count

