Pathway to Heaven

 

 

 

When the pain hit my stomach that morning, I suspected the cause but prayed to God that I was wrong. Mom used to tell me about worms being the cause of stomach ache when we were young but the pain was more than two belligerent worms fighting for crumbs of the shawarma I consumed the previous night. I remembered taking the drugs, without a doctor’s prescription, drugs bought from a hawker at CMS bus stop at night. A hangover, the result of a night of clubbing and drinking with friends was also yet to clear that morning.

Father Lord, I promise never to try this again, I muttered, as I drove slowly in the early morning traffic around Silverbird Galleria. I tried to hide my discomfort from Lara. Lara was my latest crush who usually rode with me in the mornings. Our offices were on the same street.

Boom! came a loud noise. I was sure I had never heard anything that loud in my life. It had to be a bomb. At last, Boko Haram was in Lagos!

Everyone left their cars to run. I put in all my effort to sprint away from the scene as well. Breathing became hard. Although I believed I was running like Usain Bolt, every other person running had left me behind. That was when a sharp pain clutched at my chest.
Oh Lord, I did not come to Lagos to die like this on the last day of 2014, I thought, totally forgetting about my stomach ache and the pills that must have caused it. Lara was already about 300 metres ahead. I saw a soldier run past me. Who wan die? I wanted to cry when I saw a woman the size of Lepacious Bose run past me too.
I knew I had to run to safety. I couldn’t die from this bomb blast. If I did, when I got to heaven, yes, heaven, the conversation between me and God would go thus:
GOD: WHY COULDN’T THE LEGS I GAVE YOU RUN FAST, AWAY FROM A BOMB YOU HEARD WITH YOUR EARS?
Me: Holy Father, my legs are unfit to run. This mortal body has not had a medical check-up in years. The last time it had a long trek or run was during the endurance trek at NYSC Orientation Camp in 2008.
GOD: WHY DID YOU SLEEP ON SATURDAY MORNINGS WHEN YOUR MATES WERE AT THE NATIONAL STADIUM WORKING OUT?
I was sure I wouldn’t have any response. I only prayed I would survive and take my health and fitness more seriously thereafter. Even honourable members of the House of Representatives old enough to be my father were fit enough to climb gates when locked out.
By the time I got to Adeola Odeku junction, people had discovered that the noise we heard was from the tyre of a truck that burst.
I looked at the truck driver with disdain.
And I fainted.
******************
Written by Sagay Agbalaya
I am @SagaySagay on twitter.

Health is Wealth, make we no take our life play o.
HAPPY SUNDAY

Send your stories,articles,poems and the likes to dkadex00@gmail.com

Your comments count

